Posted on

Marathon Ride to/from Troutman, NC

8.12.12 – This weekend’s trip to Lake Norman State Park proved challenging. Between Friday and Sunday, I logged over 200 miles, which shouldn’t have been too much of a stretch, but I was bike camping as well. The extra weight of a full backpack definitely took its toll. With 30 or 40 miles to go on the ride home Sunday evening, and struggling with SC’s Sandhills, I had to call to a friend for a pickup. It was disappointing, but not enough to dampen the exhilaration of riding 40+ miles from Troutman, NC through the heart of Charlotte on 100% anxiety-free roads. They take transportation choice seriously up there. It was a slightly different story after crossing into South Carolina. Route 21 south of Rock Hill now sits atop my list of worst roads to bike in the state. If anyone knows of an enjoyable route between Columbia and Charlotte, please email me.

About Admin

GonzoStoic

Leave a comment